Diamond Education

Diamond Shapes

First of all, do notconfuse diamond "cut" with "shape." Shape refers to the general outward appearance of the diamond, (such as round, emerald, or pear). When a diamond jeweler says "cut," that's a reference to the diamond's reflective qualities, not the shape or at least it should be, you might have found that even some "jewelers" don't appear to know the difference between "cut" and "shape".

Princess Cut

The princess cut is a relatively new diamond cut and was designed for getting maximum brilliance from a square cut.Typically a four-sided square to slightly rectangular brilliant cut and the profile or side-on shape is similar to that of an inverted pyramid with four beveled sides.
The princess cut diamond is more forgiving of diamond flaws and weaknesses than the less sparkling Emerald Cut Diamond or the Asscher Cut Diamond.We highly recommend you G-H color and VS clarity of princess cut diamond for your wedding band.

Round Brillliant Cut

The most classic cut.The shape resembles that of a cone and is meant to maximize light return through the top of the diamond.A brilliant is a diamond, cut in a particular form with numerous facets so as to have especial brilliancy. The facets radiate outwards and are positioned so that the light coming through them interplays to enhance the diamond's brilliance, or sparkle.

Rounds are the most popular shape that diamonds are cut into. It is also the most brilliant of all the cuts. You may have heard of a term called "Ideal Cut". This term refers to the attempt to cut a diamond into the best proportions to achieve maximum brilliance.

Baguette Cut

Rectangular or oblong diamonds are usually called baguettes, from the French word "baguette". A baguette cut is a gemstone or diamond that is cut in a rectangular shape, which is typically used to accent a central stone.

A tapered baguette has one short end narrower than the opposite end, forming a trapezoid. They are similar to emerald cuts, but without the mitred corners which make them octagonal rather than oblong.

The Emerald Cut

It would be better to refer to octagonal diamonds, or the octagon cut, rather than the emerald cut. The reason for the slight misnomer is that not only are rough emeralds often found in and octagon shape, but they often retain more weight when cut as octagons, and also retain more colour saturation in this shape. So, because octagonal is traditionally a common and good shape for emeralds, any other stone cut in a similar manner gets referred to as an emerald cut.

The Heart Shape

The heart shape is surely the romantic shape for a diamond. Basically it is a pear shape with a notch cut into the rounded end. Heart and pear shaped diamonds are variations of the round brilliant cut. The modern round brilliant cut is generally the best cut for diamonds, and justly remains the most popular.
Modified brilliant cuts, such as the heart shape can at best approach the brilliance and sparkle of a perfect round brilliant cut, but if they are badly proportioned, it is also easy for them to lose brilliance. In addition, heart shapes can be too fat, too thin, or just right, although personal preference may colour an individual's view of the precise outline.

Diamond Clarity

Diamond clarity refers to the number, position and size of the inclusions that occur naturally inside diamonds. The fewer and less obvious the inclusions, the more valuable the diamond. Here is an illustration that shows the clarity grading scale that has been established by the world's foremost authority on diamonds, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA).

An important aspect of diamonds is their clarity. Before buying a diamond you should make efforts to learn all about grading the clarity of a diamond. This process is very easy to learn. The two things that you need to understand. There are two types of diamonds, namely those with inclusions or blemishes, and those that are without blemishes that can be seen with the naked eye. The clarity of diamonds can be further sub-divided into various categories.

Many people believe the misconception that diamond clarity implies the clarity of the diamond. This is actually not the case. Clarity is used to indicate the internal and external imperfections of the diamond. The most superior quality diamonds will have the grade of FL or IF – Flawless or Internally Flawless – which means that it is perfect. On the other hand, a grade of I-1, I-2 or I-3 implies that the diamond is imperfect, with a grade of I-3 being the worst.
There are other types of grades such as VVS1 and VVS2, which indicate that the diamonds may be slightly imperfect; VS1 and VS2 indicate that the diamond is very slightly imperfect; SI-1 and SI-2 indicate that the diamond is slightly imperfect.

Diamond Color

Diamonds are found in nature in a wide range of colors, from completely colorless (the most desirable trait) to slightly yellow, to brown. So-called 'fancy color diamonds' come in more intense colors, like yellow and blue, but these are not graded on the same scale. The diamond color grading system uses the letters of the alphabet from D through Z, with 'D' being the most colorless and therefore the rarest and most valuable, and 'Z' having the most color within the normal range, and being the least valuable, all other factors being equal. A diamond's color is determined by looking at it under controlled lighting and comparing them to the Gemological Institute of America's color scale, which is based on a set of diamonds of known color. Here is a diagram showing how a diamond's color is graded.

Diamonds found in nature come in colors ranging from colorless to slightly yellow or brown, to more rare and costly pink, green or blue stones (commonly referred to as 'fancy' diamonds). Excluding 'fancy' diamonds, the ideal color for a diamond is colorless, although this is extremely rare.
A diamond's color is most accurately determined when it is not mounted in a setting, since settings can introduce tints of their own color into the diamond. This is more evident in yellow gold settings, and less so in white gold and platinum settings. Even a trained professional can't always tell the difference between close grades of color in a diamond if it is still mounted in a setting. For this reason, gemological laboratories such as the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and American Gemological Society (AGS) will only grade diamonds that are unmounted.

Diamonds with a color grade of D, E or F are considered colorless; G, H, I and J are near colorless; K, L and M have a faint yellow tint; N, O, P, Q and R have a very light yellow tint and S, T, U, V, W, X, Y and Z are light yellow. A diamond that is a D color is absolutely colorless, and is therefore the most valuable. However, it's important to understand that color alone does not determine the value of a diamond. All '4Cs' must be taken into account. A diamond of D color that has imperfections or is poorly cut is not as valuable as a stone of a lower color grade that has a superior cut and clarity.